Skip navigation

[Update: 25 August 2008] Got my Lumix DMC-LX3 for a day and is loving it, will post pics, sample shots and my thoughts later this week. Stay tuned.

[23 August 2008] Been using my Sony Alpha 700 DSLR for a long time and having my Casio Exilim EX-S880 as a backup DC.  However, since switching to shooting RAW on the A700, there’s no way for me to go back in shooting JPEGs giving the extra information recorded with the RAW format.

With the new Sony flagship full-frame DSLR launching soon (possible A-900), I’m also in the process of upgrading my DC to one that’s capable of shooting RAWs.  The shortlisted ones are the Ricoh GX-200, the Canon PowerShot G9 and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3.

Been studying the specs of the three DCs and really like what the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3 can do especially with its focal length of 24-60mm and large aperture of f2.0.

Advice I’ve been getting is to wait until the end of Photkina show to see if any new models (possible upgrade to the Canon PowerShot G9 with the new G10 and the Nikon P6000).  What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

