Skip navigation

Elinchrom Skyport Transmitter on My Sony A900

Elinchrom Skyport Transmitter on My Sony A900

Elinchrom Skyport Receiver

Elinchrom Skyport Receiver

Well it took me less than a week to decide on the wireless trigger system for my Sony gears.  Decided on the Elinchrom EL Skyport system and got it yesterday.  Put it on a few range test and the results were more than satisfactory.  Reasons for picking the Skyport  is because it is way cheaper solution than the Pocket Wizard which is not legally sold here in Hong Kong due to some stupid radio frequency/broadcast regulations.  For the universal radio trigger set (1 transmitter and 1 receiver), it cost less than HK$1,400 (US$180).  Got myself couple extra receivers for HK$790 (US$101); great bargain.  Way better than the PT-04 from Shamshuipo.

In order for the Skyport to work on the Sony system, a cable is needed and so far I only found these from FlashZebra.  It’s the Sony/Minolta proprietary hotshoe to Skyport and it also work with Pocket Wizard and Cybersync.  The price at US$46.50 is a bit steep but the construction is awesome.  Too bad I’m not good at DIY or else I’ll make myself couple.

Sony/Minolta Proprietary Hotshoe to Elinchrom Skyport

Sony/Minolta Proprietary Hotshoe to Elinchrom Skyport

The Hotshoe to Elinchrom Skyport Itself

The Hotshoe to Elinchrom Skyport Cable Itself

5 Comments

  1. I just bought the Elinchrom Universal Skyport set myself and shoot with a Sony Alpha 100.

    Have you any idea if that FlashZebra hotshoe to Elinchrom Skyport Cable will fire Sigma flashes for Sony?

    I have a Sigma EF 530 DG Super (Sony/Minolta mount) and I’m not sure if that cable will fire it (other adapters don’t seem to work).

    Thanks!

    • If you’re in Hong Kong, you can try out mine. Email me your contacts and I’ll hook up with you.

  2. Thanks but I am actually in the United Kingdom though! I came across your site in a Google search.

    What type of flash unit are you firing with your Skyports?

  3. Thank you for the link of FlashZebra.com’s Sony Proprietary Hotshoe for Pocket Wizard, Elinchrom etc. Been looking for this for my F58 for quite a while.


Leave a Reply

